Finding what you didn’t know you were looking for…

Sometimes you just strike gImageold… even when you didn’t even know you wanted to find some.

Years ago someone once asked me what I was looking for in a relationship.  I thought it over for a few seconds, and said “someone to talk with”… oh, how wrong I was.

I found what I was looking for in my other half…  but I had no idea I’d been looking for it, until it found me – silence.

Not someone to talk with, but someone to be quiet with – that was what I’d wanted all along.  And finding it, I never want to let it go.

It’s the thing I love more than anything in our relationship… we can just be quiet together.  There’s never any ackward silences, just silence.  Wonderful silence that has no need to be filled with anything apart from us being in the company of eachother.

Don’t get me wrong – we talk… we talk a lot, sometimes we yell and scream, a lot of the time we laugh, sometimes we sing along to the radio together, sometimes we whisper in bed… but most of all I treasure that we can just be together without having to say a single word.

——-

Written for the Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence – http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/the-sound-of-silence/

21 thoughts on “Finding what you didn’t know you were looking for…

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Sounds of Silence | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  2. Pingback: HOW DOES SILENCE SOUND? | SERENDIPITY

  3. Pingback: A moment in Paris | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: litadoolan

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  7. Pingback: Aborted Words | The Backwords

  8. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | To Breathe is to Write

  9. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound of Silence | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – The Sound of Silence – 17 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  11. Pingback: Born into Silence | Running Brook Reflections

  12. Pingback: The Awkward Love Song of Abigail Archer [BOOK REVIEW] | Ramisa the Authoress

  13. Pingback: Letters from the Silence – 20th February, 2014 | Wired With Words

Leave a comment