Incompetence

Well, the above title refers to a book, a book by Rob Grant.  A book that made me laugh.  I hate the term “laugh out loud” as I generally find that as soon as something has been refered to as “laugh out loud”-funny, it will never actually make you laugh in real life.

This book however made me laugh, to the point I’m pretty sure I snorted.  And as far as I can remember, this is the only book that’s made me laugh out loud.  Oh, there’s many books that makes me smile, and plenty I find amusing without smiling… but this one I will always remember as the book that made me laugh.

It’s far from my fave book, best book I’ve ever read is “Count of Monte Cristo”, but I also have a soft spot for “Don Quixote” (to the point I once named my beautiful little gerbil after the horse in the book)…  and although I loathe the Lord of The Rings films, I’ve read the books in three languages.  Still, give me a Stephen King book any day, and I’ll be as happy as a pig in mud.  😀

 

So, “Incompetence” is far from the best book in the world… but it’s lighthearted and short – perfect for a depressing day.  I could fault it in a hundred ways, but none of them matters – what matters is that you will be in for a fun ride!  Plenty of places where you will feel a smile spreading on your face… and of course my fave – the cheese scene.  I’m not gonna give away any spoilers, if you read the book you will know what I mean straight away.

The book is set in a future (that seems more and more likely to actually happen.  *sigh*) where political correctness has gone too far, and all the headaches that ensues.

There’s plenty of deaths and fairly rank things happening, so if that’s not your thing, than you might want to stay away, even though the cheese scene is worth it.

Apart from that, I’m not gonna mention any more about the plot, as it doesn’t really matter…  what matters is that it’s fun, it will cheer you up, and (quite sadly) you will be familiar with the stupidity of people you encounter in the world.

 

So, why the sudden book review?  Well, this is where I’m supposed to learn to keep my mouth shut – but how the heck can I when there’s a Chesterfield chair up for grabs!?!  Aaaaaaaargh…  I’ve wanted one of these for years, as it would have been perfect in the livingroom.  Of course I never expected to get a proper one (no dosh for that sort of expense), but I was hoping to get a massproduced replica on the freebie section of Gumtree or Freecycle.  And I had no luck.  There was a few up for grabs, but too far from where we live to pick up.  I wasn’t fussed, beige, brown, red or black would have done me fine, tatty and ripped – no problem!  It was to be my dream chair, one perfect for curling up in, with a kitty or dog on the lap.  Now, I got a blooming piano in place where I always wanted the chair.  😦

So – get entering people – this chair is awesome!!!  And hopefully you don’t have to figure out where to put a piano if you win.  Open worldwide!  Yup, you read that right – they will ship to you anywhere in the world if you win.

 

Distinctive Chesterfields - Book Review Competition
Handmade English Wing Back Chairs
8 thoughts on “Incompetence

  1. Always great to meet another Stephen King fan. I am just waiting for my ebook reader and then I can enjoy reading again. 🙂

    I love futuristic reading but nowadays I mostly watch movies/series. Seems the stupidity doesn’t change in the future. 😆

    I sincerely hope you do get that Chesterfield chair Cathy. It looks quite comfy. 😀
    Thanks for the lovely review and post. 😀 ♥ Hugs ♥

    • When it comes to books, Stephen King really is “the king”. 😀 And there’s a few I need to catch up on, last one I read was The Dome (loved the book, but “stupid” ending)… have read everything up to then.

      I know, I hardly read anymore… I get so sucked into a book, I’m completely gone. Not nice for the other half, as I neither see nor hear anything around me whilst reading… so I now only read when I’m given books (birthday and Christmas’). Instead we watch films or series together. 😀 At the moment Game of Thrones is the big hit, just discoverd it about a months ago (yes, we live under a rock) and am now up-to-date, and hating having to wait a week to see the next episode. Before that we just watched the last two series of American Horror Story (we saw the first season a year or so ago).

      Noooooooo – no ebook reader!!! Ok, so I understand they’re handy… but what about the books?! 😀 I love books as much as I love reading. My dream is to one day have a library filled with old books. 😀 Hmmmmmm… maybe if I win the shed, I could have a mini library – as you won’t believe it – we’d been taking of making a new shed, I then hoped to win a new shed… and then the family that lived a few houses down moved – and gave us their 16×12 foot shed! Hahahahaha! It’s MASSIVE. Currently mostly still in parts, but other half has started on building a smaller one (7×8) out of it. I’m “helping” by giving (im)moral support as the body is useless. 🙂

      • I totally agree with you as far as ‘The King’ is concerned and now I am not talking about Elvis Presley who is the “King of Rock’ in my eyes. 😆

        It’s the same with me, especially when it’s Stephen King, Dean R. Koontz and Robin Cook. Those 3 are my favourites and I collect their books. I LOVE the smell of books and would also love to have my own library one day. A room with all the walls lined with bookshelves. The shed idea sounds great and when it’s finished, please post a photo of it so I can see as well. 😀

        Love Game of Thrones and American Horror Story. Then there are still and always will be Supernatural and a few new ones, like ‘Believe’, ‘Star-crossed’, ‘Under the Dome’, ‘Almost Human’ and ‘Crisis’ so yeah, now you can see why I don’t really have time for reading and I only want an e-book reader because I have to many e-books that hubby downloaded for me and the problem with most of the real books is that the text are way too small for these old eyes of mine. I have mono-vision and the right eye is a bit blurry and I can’t read with the glasses on. If the text is big enough I can read without any problem. 🙂

        Yep, know the feeling of having to wait for next week for another episode to come out. LOL! Very frustrating but between all the ones I am watching, they usually last me for the whole week. hahahaha

        Don’t tell me about useless bodies. I know it very well as it’s the same with me. But the (im)moral support sounds like lots of fun. 😛 😆

  2. Dumas, absolutely! Cervantes is THE leading light of novella. The Trilogy, about 15 times so far. I ought to like Steven King, but sadly, I do not, neither book nor film.

  3. Pingback: Distinctive Chesterfields Blog | Ultimate Reader's Prize: And the Winner is... -

  4. Pingback: Distinctive Chesterfields Blog | Knowing We're on the Street Where You Live! -

Leave a Reply

