I miss my microwave

Well – the title above is a whole load of bullocks, as I how can I possibly miss my microwave?  The huge beast is still sitting on the kitchen counter.

The microwave is just an object, and currently it does nothing for me apart from envoking irritation that it’s still there, big as a house, and doing fuck all.

I miss what I could do with it.  As by magic I could have a heated meal in 25 seconds.  Instead I’ve just re-heated lasagna in a pan.  Yes, in a saucepan.  As it was just a wee snack for me at 4am in the morning, I looked at it as pointless to reheat it in the oven.  The result was fairly dry lasagna, but nowhere near as dry as it would have been in the oven.  It took me 5 minutes.  5 minutes is nothing, but at 4am when you want lasagna NOW – it feels like forever.  And the blasted mircowave was sitting on the counter mocking me.

It zonked out about a month ago.  If I’d been well we would by now have had a new one, but as I’ve been mainly confined to hobbling around the house, we’ve only been out looking for a new one once… and when it comes to something that will be on display in the kitchen for (hopefully!) years to come, once is not enough.

The first week we tried to fix it.  Apperantly there’s fuses inside the microwave.  Apperantly they kept blowing each time we changed one.  Apperantly there’s a massive problem in there somewhere, and no matter how many new fuses we stick in there’s no way the bugger will work.

So, onto plan B – new microwave.

The problem is – I want a simple microwave where I can learn to use it’s functions within a day.  I never learnt how to use the beast mocking me.  I learnt one setting.  ONE.  How to set it to 900, and how to set how many seconds for.  That’s all I learnt…  in 8 years!  That said, it was an excellent working microwave.  But any microwave that worked would have been excellent in my eyes.

The other half wants something more sophisticated than a spaceship.  He wants something that has a billion different settings, with a million buttons, preferably with flashing lights, joysticks and various useless controls that we will never learn to use.

Until we manage to find something in the middle – I’m stuck with missing the convenience of nuking food.

——–

Not purposely written for the Weekly Writing Challenge, as such, as I was gonna bitch about the mocking beast anyway, but found it quite fitting.  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/writing-challenge-object/

——-

Images not mine, used from Google with “educational purposes” in mind.  Lesson to be learnt – any working microwave is a brilliant microwave.  All others are a piece of crap.

19 thoughts on “I miss my microwave

  1. Pingback: The Evil Calculator | Alexia Jones

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | imagination

  4. Pingback: I Dreamed About Avril Lavigne | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES

  5. Pingback: Tigger: an object – Weekly Writing Challenge | alienorajt

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  8. Pingback: Alarm | Stealing All the Sevens

  9. Pingback: The 6th of March 1997 – Fishkill, New York | Forgotten Correspondance

  10. Pingback: Oranges are the only fruit | litadoolan

  11. Pingback: Using FBI Documents when Writing my Mafia Memoir (Chapter Nine) | reinventing the event horizon

  12. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Object – 24 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

    • 😀 Thank you!

      Still no working microwave here. 😦 Although we plan to go an see if we can get one on Sunday (cue me extremely awkward in shops, other half dying of embarrassment). What gets to me is the huge non-working bastard still on the kitchen counter. Hahahaha! I physically cannot move it, even when well, I can’t lift it.

      Although, I might have shot myself in the foot… I told other half they’re still selling these microwaves (our is over 8 years old), as I found a link for this post. He then managed to say he might take it in to be fixed. *rips hair out* It will probably cost more to fix the big bastard, then to buy a new one. *sigh*

      • I know. It can be cool to get things fixed like recycle things but the bill can be huge. You have my sympathies!
        Yes isn’t weird that in the kitchen especially when something has stopped working it becomes so annoying just sitting there. Didn’t think of that before but that’s how it is!

        Enjoy Friday! I love your blog.

  13. Pingback: The 16th of May 1973 – Louisville, Kentucky | Forgotten Correspondance

  14. Pingback: It’s all good! | Crap I Blog About

  15. Whahahaha! Great post and well written Cathy! I would love to have what he wants as well but they will have to include a kitchen robot then too! 😀

  16. Pingback: An Insignificant Object | Wired With Words

Leave a Reply

