Fucking Man Flu

Well… here’s the reason I’m up at this god-forsaken hour (and see FB posts about who’s gay or straight) – I got man-flu.

You’d think with me being female and all this shouldn’t really happen – but it has.  I got a proper fucker of a cold.

It’s been a few years since I’ve had cold, but it’s something I used to get frequently:  2-3 times a year the norm.

Generally I get the runny nose, then the blocked snotty nose, then a sore throat.  This time my cold feels like it’s bordering on the flu.  Ad no – it’s not the flu.  I’ve had flu twice in my life, and it’s so bad it makes you wish you were dead.

Anyway… a little over a week ago I got an infection in my mouth (niiiiiice)… and I’m pretty certain this is the culprit making me welcome in this bugger of a cold.

So – there you go – massive toothache that’s keeping me up at night, and then the runny nose appeared… but it didn’t come alone – no, it dragged with it high fever and a sore throat.

Then appeared the coughing… now this is something I would never normally get – but now it’s gotten to the point that I’ve coughed so much I’ve managed to pull something in my cheast, so now each time I cough (which is just about all the time), I have to bend over not to be in pain.  And no… it’s not a pneumonia, as I once managed to get that too (and believe you me, I’d take this cold over that anyday!  Having to sleep sitting up for two weeks due to the pain each time you take a breath is no fun).

Soooo – we got bad tooth, now snotty nose, sore throat, hideous coughing, painful chest, fever, fatigue (oh don’t you just love it when you have to sit down and have a break in the middle of the stairs as your taking the steps up to the bedrooms?), and just to make sure I’m royally fucked – a bad tummy due to the antibiotics for the tooth, and the painkillers for the cold.  Thanks…. just what I wanted.

And although having a bath each day (if you’ve had the flu, you’ll know that actually dragging your behind into the shower or bath is an impossible task), I’m now on the forth day running wearing PJs and a robe.  It looks fantastic with my bright red nose.

However, I do believe i’m getting better!  Fever has gone down, and I’m capable of stringing a sentence together (this is more than I would have been able to 24 hours ago)… and I think a few more hours in bed, and I might actually be able to get around to doing a few tasks later on!  🙂

4 thoughts on “Fucking Man Flu

Leave a Reply

